An account can be deleted from the chart of accounts if no longer required, but only if there are no site accounts associated with the chart account. If there are site accounts linked to the chart account, the option to delete the account from the chart of accounts is unavailable as you will need to delete the site accounts first as covered in This Article.
You can only delete an account if you have rights to do so. Click Here if you do not have rights to delete but believe you should.
To delete an account:
- Head to Company Settings > Accounts Setup > Chart Of Accounts.
- Locate the required account and select [EDIT].
Within the account:
- Select [DELETE].
- Confirm the deletion.
The account is now marked as deleted.
As this is a soft delete, the chart account can be recovered if required. To do so, locate the chart account (ensuring that the Show Deleted search filter is set to "Yes") and access the chart account record again. Select [UNDELETE] and confirm the recovery. The chart account is now available again.